[at084] Émilie Girard-Charest & Marc Vilanova - Uncanny Valley

Date of release: 21.11.2017
Format: FILE - MP3 / WAV 
Length: 20:00 min
Artwork: Audiotalaia / Guillermo Perez García.



In 2016, we invited Marc Vilanova to deliver a work for the Digital Catalogue of Audiotalaia. Impressed by the overwhelming quality and potential creativity by this Catalan musician, we encouraged him to be a part of our catalogue. After a few months and short emails, Vilanova suggested the possibility of releasing a collaboration between him and Canadian cellist Émilie Girard-Charest that would be recorded by the Swiss Sound Designer Robert Torche. Intrigued by the proposal, we agreed to it. The collaboration would take place in a short period of time and would be recorded in the best conditions by Torche.

Researching in the Audiotalaia Catalogue Vilanova, Girard-Charest and Torche realized that there are no acoustic recordings whatsoever in the whole archive. That gave both acoustic musicians a scope on what to explore, a pretext to improvise towards an end. The original premise was to aim to sound as "digital" as possible in order to create a kind of "acoustic electronic music" during the sessions that took place in the summer 2016.

They acknowledge, in their own words, that electronics have a tradition to extend, stretch, modify and even imitate acoustic instruments. With this project, their aim has been to do the opposite: with their acoustic instruments, they searched for forms and languages that recalled electronic music.

The outcome is these 8 tracks pristinely recorded and beautifully selected from a 1-hour and a half recording. Moreover, and this is very special for the catalogue, it is always a pleasure to have works fully inspired, conceptually or aesthetically with the catalogue and the artists represented on it.


01. Sax Cello I
02. Sax Cello II
03. Sax Cello III
04. Solo Cello
05. Solo Sax
06. Sax Cello IV
07. Sax Cello V
08. Sax Cello VI



Guillermo Perez García (wordsoflight.divisibles.com)

Guillermo Perez García (wordsoflight.divisibles.com)

Guillermo Perez García (wordsoflight.divisibles.com)



All tracks by Émilie Girard-Charest And Marc Vilanova. Recorded and mixed by Robert Torche in Basel at Musik-Akademie, during one night in June 2016.

Authors note: All the sounds have been recorded live and come only from acoustic instruments: cello and saxophones (alto and soprano). No electronics have been added, although we have been inspired by experimental electronic music, as it's the line of Audiotalaia.

Licencia de Creative Commons

"Uncanny Valley" by Émilie Girard-Charest and Marc Vilanova is licensed under a Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional License. Creado a partir de la obra en http://www.audiotalaia.net/2017/11/at084-emilie-girard-charest-marc.html